Skip to content

Hello again, it’s me.

July 15, 2013
Hello again, it's me.

Flickr.com (i-am-rebecca)

I’m back, over a year later. If there’s anything you remember about me and my previous returns to blogging, it’s that a) I’m probably single, and b) I’m probably going to start dating again. The answer to both assumptions is “yes.”

At this point – maybe later, but not now – I’m not going to talk about the last long-term relationship I was in. Not only did he not want to be blogged about, but I also lost the desire to blog during that year and a half. It was a healthy, (generally) happy relationship, and I am missing him these days. I am missing the love that filled the edges of my life with its warm consistency, late night cups of tea and conversations, and its endless supply of affection. To be simple about it, I loved loving him, I loved being loved, but I am ready now for something else, something more compatible, something lifelong. I wish this happiness not only for me, but also for you.

I’m back, though – for the same reason that I’m unsure I’ll be able to date much this summer – I can’t guarantee consistent posts or comments; I’m writing my dissertation and will need time to focus on that. This blog will serve as light relief for me, something to write in between thicker, mind-numbing, data-filled drafts. I’m not planning on doing much promoting either; just a bit of on-and-off writing when the thoughts appear to me.

Finally, this one’s for you, J, and for A, and for R, and for S, and for Z (my once-muse), and for the group of girls who began reading my blog this weekend: I’m writing for you, because you kept asking where my blog went. Well, it’s here, and it’s back.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2013 3:02 pm

    :)

  2. Someone permalink
    July 15, 2013 8:46 pm

    Well, gosh darn, I didn’t expect an update to pop up on my RSS feed from you! Heck, I had almost forgotten about your site due to your lack of updates for… 500+ days. Wow, has it really been that long? That’s one darn long ‘ship you just extricated yourself from.

    In any case, the best of luck in finishing your dissertation. I know how painful and time-consuming that can be.

    All the happiness and joy in your dating life as well.

    • July 25, 2013 1:52 pm

      It was a lengthy relationship – one I was hoping would turn into something more long-term. I had half considered removing this blog, but I find it an effective way to communicate – and in a sense, release – my past.

  3. July 16, 2013 9:42 am

    Welcome back… and good luck on your dissertation!
    And thanks for the inspiration… I need to return to the blogosphere too!

    • July 25, 2013 1:51 pm

      Yes, you ought to! Why not? :)

  4. July 16, 2013 1:41 pm

    Yay!! Just saw this post pop up in my reader & got excited! I’m sorry to hear about your break-up but it sounds like you’re taking everything in stride. Good luck with your dissertation! Missed you. xo

    • July 25, 2013 1:50 pm

      Thank you, and thank you! Glad to see you here again. :)

  5. July 22, 2013 6:48 pm

    Hey, welcome back Zoe, it’s nice to hear you’re alive and well … and on the prowl I suppose ?

    • July 25, 2013 1:50 pm

      On the prowl again…I suppose. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 823 other followers