Skip to content

Of meat and men

January 20, 2012

My kind of man.

I’ll refrain from making the obvious meat/sausage-fest jokes in this post. After all, I’m 32, not 23 (most of the time).

There are few weeks in which I don’t have to explain, at least once, what my eating preferences are. I grew up on a vegetarian diet of fresh fruit, vegetables, beans, legumes and a plethora of grains. Since those years, I have more or less maintained my vegetarianism, though I am more likely to call myself a “pescetarian” or (jokingly) a “flexi-tarian” (as my mostly-vegetarian-with-occasional-fish diet is supplemented by an bi-annual burger).

The bottom line: moderation is the name of my game. I rarely get drunk, and even more rarely enjoy it when I do. I play this odd game with myself, called “What would it be like if I moved to _____?” (name of random country) And I know that if I had to relocate, tomorrow, to a Muslim country where alcohol was prohibited, I wouldn’t be concerned. I don’t smoke, though I did in my college years, and infrequently experience the so-called benefits of getting high. Given an open schedule, I enjoy exactly 9 hours of sleep, so all-nighters and 4-hour nights are merely tolerated while I survive graduate school. In fact, the only thing extreme about my life is my addiction to Facebook.

I know that it’s unlikely that I’ll end up in a relationship with a vegetarian, unless I become a lesbian (seriously; in a large-scale study of vegetarians, only 32% were men while 68% were women). I have dated vegetarians: a Canadian Seventh-day Adventist; a Taiwanese atheist (Paul) who became vegetarian for animal rights; an African-American Seventh-day Adventist athlete; an Indian man who grew up Hindu. An atheist guy friend of mine is vegan. I have also dated wannabe vegetarians, like Edgar, whose travels and tendency for empathy nearly led him to vegetarianism if it weren’t for his love of all things beef. Or Bob, a Taiwanese-American man who took on vegetarianism after he became interested in me, then dropped it after I broke up with him.

Then there was this one guy I dated last summer. Or rather, went on two dates with. He was considerate, creative, and photographed for and wrote a blog about STEAK. Not just steak, but also burgers, barbecuing, bacon, and anything that involved buckets of butter (brioche, anyone?)…

Exhibit A

Exhibit B

Exhibit C

The gross, grand finale...

I know what some of you may be thinking: “He cooks, and takes pretty photos, and gosh-darn-it, I love steak and eggs.” If that’s you and you live in southern California, by all means, email me and I’ll see what I can do to introduce the two of you. He’s a likable man, but when I saw the blog, I knew I had reached my limit. I could love the man, but there was no way I could love what he ate.

So I have to see moderation in the man I choose. If he’s carnivorous, I have two requests: to never cook meat for him and if he must bring meat into the house, to have it in the kitchen for no more than a day. I don’t think this will be a problem; I’ve never had a complaint about my cooking, which is creative and full of flavor.

Now (I haven’t done one of these in a while) a poll!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2012 11:38 am

    Zoe, where can I find this magical mystery meat blog? I just did a piece myself on BBQ Canadian style.

    • January 20, 2012 2:47 pm

      Bob, I really don’t want to “out” him on this blog (he’s a great guy, not to mention – he never knew about this blog), but I’ll email you the link. Enjoy! :)

  2. January 25, 2012 10:16 am

    I think it’s really important that the person you’re with share the same type of diet habits. At the end of the day I find the dominant personality usually wins out. I dated a girl that was a vegetarian… needless to say she wasn’t one after we broke up. LOL If I’d had to do it again thought I’d encourage her to stay vegetarian…

  3. February 3, 2012 4:38 pm

    I’m in often on vegetarian. I love my meat, but for the most part I feel a lot better when I only eat vegetables.

  4. February 10, 2012 1:56 pm

    I think if both people in the relationship are flexible it can work. I dated a vegetarian woman for two years. When we cooked at home it was primarily vegetarian (no complaints from me), but if we went out to eat and I ordered a meat dish, she didn’t shy away from kissing me after the meal. I believe in eating delicious food, that means non-meat dishes as well. I think it’s all in the perception.

  5. March 14, 2012 11:51 am

    I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger award!
    Thank you for making my day brighter through your blog!

  6. April 3, 2012 6:41 am

    Hey there,
    Just wanted to say I really like/ relate to your blog (and also I found you via my pal Michal). Your philosophy on disclosure about the blog especially resonates.
    Here’s mine about internet dating if you want to check it out.
    http://thingsilearnwhileinternetdating.wordpress.com/

  7. May 28, 2012 1:22 am

    Is this an abandoned blog? I was enjoying it.

    • July 25, 2013 1:55 pm

      I stepped away to spend time on my Ph.D. and a long-term relationship (with someone who didn’t want to be blogged about, to be fair). I’m back, though I can’t say I will be a regular contributor. I’ll do my best. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 823 other followers