Skip to content

Part-time blogger, full-time lover.

October 5, 2011

So it’s been a while. I say this a lot, I know. I could come up with excuses, and if you suspected that, with me, “no news is good news,” you’d be correct. I am happily dating, and for the first time in far too long, I’m in a relationship that has lasted for over two months.

My blogging lagged after a recent vacation to Yellowstone, and correspondingly, after I began dating my current boyfriend. In addition, my doctoral writing has increased, and so, between the post-vacation calm, the new-relationship joys, and the grad school nights, I distracted myself out of blogging regularly.

And then I began to wonder: “what purpose does this blog have?” When I first wrote it, I was in the middle of a dating spree, thanks to my Match.com account. Initially, I set up this blog as a way to update my girlfriends on my dating life, but then the shiny allure of social media came along. I began to look into blogging-for-profit (many of the brilliant dating bloggers I know do). I began to widen my reach, through Twitter, Facebook and StumbleUpon. I even created a solitary YouTube video. All to the detriment of my graduate school studies.

So I’ll just admit it: I may not blog as frequently as I have before. I’m no longer interested in the page hits, or number of comments I receive on blog posts, or number of friends I meet on Twitter, or even which of my exes are still reading. Because I’ll write this blog the way I wrote it in the beginning: for me, a couple of my friends, and whoever else stumbles over and decides to read. No advertisements, no Tweets announcing its arrival several times a day, and no guarantee I’ll even blog that frequently as graduate school demands more of me.

But, yes.

Yes, I’ll tell you about Anand. That’s not his real name, but “Anand” means “happiness” in Sanskrit … so it fits.

Happy 130th post, readers. :)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 11:51 am

    I think writing for ones self is the key to having a honest blog… :)

    • October 5, 2011 11:57 am

      TJ, your comment is part of the reason I keep writing. :) Thank you for being awesome.

  2. October 5, 2011 11:55 am

    Totally agree with Jacson – write for yourself!

    And congrats on the cool guy. :-)

    • October 7, 2011 5:20 pm

      Wow, thank you for the kind comment! :D Yes, he’s pretty awesome.

  3. October 5, 2011 2:29 pm

    No matter how long it takes you to update, there are some of us that will enjoy it :)

    • October 7, 2011 5:20 pm

      Aww, Adri … my heart is so full. Thank you, thank you.

  4. October 7, 2011 8:23 am

    I always get excited whenever I see a new post from you! I’m glad that life is good & you are happy. I agree with TJ, writing for yourself always works.

    • October 7, 2011 5:21 pm

      Awwwwwwww. Seriously, your comments are awesome. Life is good, and I am overall a happy girl. :) Glad to see you around, Miss Skinny!

  5. October 10, 2011 8:08 am

    Congratulations on finding happiness. Whatever happens, I wish you the best.

  6. November 26, 2011 8:57 pm

    Haven’t been here in a while and it looks like things are going well, if a bit hectic. =)

    Glad to hear you’re happy! =)

    Just keep writing when you feel it. The rest always works itself out

    • December 10, 2011 7:02 pm

      I felt it, and I wrote. ;) Thank you for being awesome.

Trackbacks

  1. Off the blog « *wink* *wink* *wink*
  2. 2011: A year in posts « *wink* *wink* *wink*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 823 other followers