Skip to content

When life gets in the way of blogging

June 2, 2010

The closest thing I'll get to a date in the next two weeks.

For the next couple of weeks, I’ll be blogging less as I’ll be writing final essays and grading my students’ work. I’ll befriend my coffee maker and refuse the advances of my soft, soft pillow. Sometimes life – or, in this case school – gets in the way of blogging.

For some reason, I’m reminded of the time a few years ago when Justin Timberlake was approached by a reporter who asked, “Do you have anything to say about the recent divorce of Britney and Kevin?”

Justin retorted, “Yeah, there’s a war going on in Iraq.”

Now, I’m not implying that my academic life is anything like the Iraq war (although some parallels could be drawn!). What I am saying is that sometimes life becomes so big you can’t do anything but focus on that. So, as much as I want to talk about my pseudo-dates, delicious coffee shop encounters, and flirtatious friends, I need to focus on my work. That’s why I’m here, after all.

I hope to blog a little this weekend, and maybe even a little next week. But for now, it’s just me and my cardamom coffee.

xoxo,

Z-Blue

P.S. Speaking of Justin Timberlake, I recently re-discovered this song and have had it on repeat in my iTunes playlist, to listen to as I write. Enjoy!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 6:59 pm

    It happens…I had to take a week off myself because so much was going on in my world that blogging/dating had to take a back seat. I look forward to reading your posts in the near future!

  2. June 2, 2010 8:49 pm

    I hear you. I’m kind of at the same point right now. Good luck with all the final essays and stuff! xo

  3. June 3, 2010 2:47 pm

    I hear ya…school is more important…and we’ll all be right here waiting for you with bated breath (as I’m sure your mens will be too :P)

  4. June 4, 2010 11:06 am

    Good luck Z-Blue! Knuckle down and knock out those papers!

  5. Jesse permalink
    June 14, 2010 4:13 am

    haha, i think the fact that the Iraq war is the first thing that crossed your mind when deciding how to describe your Academic load is perfectly legitimate. I graduated from William & Mary last year, and during finals when I watched CNN in procrastination, I too made comparisons between my Work Efforts and the War Efforts, all though my efforts were alot more successful and I am finally out of “Iraq.” Best of luck on your essays and paper grading. Great blog entry, thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention When life gets in the way of blogging « *wink* *wink* *wink* -- Topsy.com
  2. I’m back … on the blog, and on the (meat) market. « *wink* *wink* *wink*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 823 other followers